Scottish Sinfonia

"Scotland's most exciting orchestra"

Conductor - Neil Mantle, MBE
Leader - Richard Gratwick


Neil Mantle

Next Concert

Sunday 1st September 2024 at 7:30pm
  Mahler's Ninth

Mahler: Symphony No.9 in D major

The music of Gustav Mahler has been firmly embedded in Sinfonia’s DNA from our inception in 1970. Since then we have performed the entire symphonic cycle several times, issuing our live concerts on compact disc. Of our previous performance of this symphony, ‘The Scotsman’ critic wrote: "From the gripping heartbeat pulse that announces the opening theme, it was clear that Scottish Sinfonia had penetrated the very soul of the work."
The Ninth - which Mahler did not live to hear - is his greatest work, and demands to be experienced LIVE as it unfolds: there is no substitute. Please come and be a part of this!

Tickets, price £17.00 (concessions: £15.00; Student: £8.00; accompanied schoolchildren: free), are available for online booking from the Usher Hall Box Office, or by telephone (0131 228 1155), from Members of the Orchestra, and at the door (cash or card).

"Sinfonia 50": stream highlights from some of our past concerts!

Click here to go to our new YouTube Channel.

Click here to see full details of our 2024-25 concert season.

All our concerts (unless otherwise stated) will take place in St Cuthbert's Parish Church in Lothian Road, and will commence at 7.30pm (unless stated otherwise). Click here for more information.

Listen to Scottish Sinfonia:
New on YouTube:

Holst: The Planets
Vaughan Williams: Overture to “The Wasps”

Also on YouTube:
Dvořák: Symphony No.7 in D minor
Mendelssohn: Symphony No.3 in A minor “Scottish”
Rossini: Overture to “William Tell
Wagner: Overture to “Tannhauser”
Bruckner: Symphony No. 6 in A major
Elgar: Concert Overture - In the South (Alassio)
Elgar: Sea Pictures (contralto: Jess Dandy)
Elgar: Symphony No. 1 in A♭>
Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor
Ravel: La Valse
Strauss: Suite from "Der Rosenkavalier"
Debussy: Two Nocturnes
Prokoviev: Suites from "Romeo and Juliet"
Rimsky Korsakov: "Scheherazade" - Symphonic Suite
Elgar: 'Cello Concerto in E minor, soloist: Robin Michael
Fauré: Incidental Music to Shylock, soloist: James Slimings (tenor)
Chausson: Symphony in B♭ major
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5
Tchaikovsky: Ballet Suite from "The Sleeping Beauty"
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 2, soloist: Edyta Mydlowska
Mozart: Overture to "The Magic Flute"
Chausson: Poème for Violin and Orchestra, soloist: Michael Bell
Beethoven: Romance No. 2 in F major for Violin and Orchestra, soloist: Daniel Bell
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 16, soloist: Alissa Bell
Bach: Double Violin Concerto in D minor, soloists: Daniel Bell and Michael Bell
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, soloist: Emily Bell
Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony
Elgar: Concert Overture "Cockaigne (In London Town)"
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No 2
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No 4, soloist Adam Davies
Rachmaninoff: Vocalise, Op.34
Elgar Violin Concerto, soloist Charles Mutter
Dvořák: Four Slavonic Dances from Opus 72
Johann Strauss II: "Thunder and Lightning" Polka
Richard Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from "Tristan and Isolde"
Antonín Dvořák: Four Slavonic Dances, opus 46
Emmanuel Chabrier: ‘España’, Rhapsody for Orchestra
Smetana: Má vlast - The Moldau (Vltava)
Dvořák: Symphony No 6 in D major
Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra
Butterworth - A Shropshire Lad
Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5
Elgar/Payne - Symphony No 3
Podcast: Respighi - "The Pines of the Appian Way"
Podcast: Charles Mutter performs the final movement of the Shostakovich Violin Concerto No1 with Scottish Sinfonia

© copyright 2024 Scottish Sinfonia powered by PHP Read Our Privacy Policy   We don't use cookies Valid HTML 4.01
        TransitionalValid CSS!