Scottish Sinfonia

"Scotland's most exciting orchestra"

Conductor - Neil Mantle, MBE
Leader - Michael Rigg


Concert Season 2019 - 2020

With thanks to our Sponsors
Conductor - Neil Mantle MBE

Note: All concerts now commence at 7:30pm

Saturday 8th February at 7:30pm (St Michael's Church, Linlithgow)
Smetana: Má vlast - The Moldau (Vltava)
Schubert: Symphony No 8 in B minor "Unfinished"
Dvořák: Symphony No 6 in D major

Sunday 24th May 2020 at 7:30pm
  A Night in Vienna:
Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
Schubert: Symphony No 8 "Unfinished"
Mozart: Exsultate Jubilate
Johann Strauss: Arias from "Die Fledermaus"

soprano: Sofia Troncoso
Strauss family: Favourite Waltzes and Polkas

What better way to spend a warm [hopefully!] May evening, than to be whisked off to that city of music: Vienna, courtesy of Sinfonia’s magic carpet?! Up and coming soprano Sofia Troncoso joins us in well loved works by Mozart and Johann Strauss, while the orchestra aims to delight you with two of the most celebrated pieces in the entire Classical repertoire : Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik and Schubert’s Unfinished. After the interval we are featuring all [well, most of] your favourite Strauss Waltzes and Polkas. We guarantee that your toes will be tapping during the concert and your head full of melody afterwards!

Advance Information: Concert Season 2020 - 2021
  50th Anniversary Season

Sunday 30th August 2020 at 7:30pm
Rachmaninoff: Vocalise
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No 4 in G minor

soloist: Adam Davies
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No 2 in E minor

Sunday 22nd November 2020 at 7:30pm – Usher Hall

50th Anniversary Concert

Mahler: Symphony No 2 in C minor "Resurrection"

chorus: Jubilo, director: Libby Crabtree
Catriona Hewitson - soprano
Catherine King - mezzo soprano

Sunday 31st January 2021 at 7:30pm
Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor (1st movement)
soloist: Gillian Gray
Bach: Concerto for Two Violins in D minor
soloists: Daniel Bell and Emily Bell
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor opus 64
soloist: Michael Bell
Bruckner: Symphony No 6 in A major

Sunday 23rd May 2021 at 7:30pm
Elgar: Concert Overture "Cockaigne (In London Town)"
Walton: Viola Concerto

soloist: Jessica Beeston
Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony

Sunday 29th August 2021 at 7:30pm
Walton: Partita for Orchestra
Elgar: Violin Concerto

soloist: Charles Mutter
Strauss: Suite from "Der Rosenkavalier"

© copyright 2019 Scottish Sinfonia powered by PHP Read Our Privacy Policy   We don't use cookies Valid HTML 4.01
        TransitionalValid CSS!